The Muppets

The Muppets

Kermit, Fozzie Bear and Miss Piggy are back and in top vocal form, as Walt Disney Records releases the soundtrack to Disney’s “The Muppets,” the upcoming brand new big-screen adventure starring Jason Segel, Amy Adams and the beloved Muppet gang.

Featuring songs written by Bret McKenzie (“Flight of the Conchords”), updated versions of Muppet classics and familiar hits given the Muppet treatment, the soundtrack arrives in stores and at online retailers Nov. 21, 2011. The film opens Nov. 23.

When Walter, the world’s biggest Muppet fan, his brother Gary (Jason Segel) and Gary’s girlfriend Mary (Amy Adams) discover the nefarious plan of oilman Tex Richman (Chris Cooper) to raze the Muppet Theater, they help Kermit reunite the Muppets to stage a telethon and raise the $10 million needed to save the theater.

Stars Jason Segel, Amy Adams and Chris Cooper join in the singing, as do special guests Feist, Mickey Rooney, Joanna Newsom, Disney Music Group artist Nathan Pacheco and the whistling skills of Andrew Bird.

Bret McKenzie, who created, co-wrote, executive produced and starred in the hit HBO television series “Flight of the Conchords,” is the music supervisor, as well as the writer/producer of four original songs, including “Life’s a Happy Song,” “Let’s Talk About Me,” “Man or Muppet” and “Me Party.” McKenzie also produced “Pictures in My Head” and “Rainbow Connection.”

The Muppets turn in new renditions for “The Muppet Show Theme” (co-written by Jim Henson) and another treasured Muppet classic, the Oscar-nominated “Rainbow Connection,” as well as the original 1969 version of “Mah Na Mah Na.” The felt gloves come off in new Muppet interpretations of Cee Lo Green’s “Forget You” and Nirvana’s “Smells Like Teen Spirit.”

Also included, the original versions of Paul Simon’s 1972 hit “Me and Julio Down by the Schoolyard” and Starship’s 1985 chart-topper “We Built This City.” The album also features 15 dialogue interstitials from the film.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


HTML tags are not allowed.