Cox Presents: A Salute to Teachers

Cox Presents: A Salute to Teachers

Five local educators were named San Diego County Teachers of the Year during the 22nd annual “Cox Presents: A Salute to Teachers brought to you by Ashford University” in cooperation with the San Diego County Office of Education.

The annual event honored San Diego County’s public school teachers and was televised live on Channel 4 San Diego from the Balboa Theater in downtown San Diego. It was announced Sunday, Oct. 7.

The 2012-13 San Diego County Teachers of the Year are:

  • Anthony Bayro, Los Peñasquitos Elementary School (Poway Unified School District)
  • Tim Dobbins, Montgomery Middle School (Cajon Valley Union School District)
  • Emily Jimenez, Rancho del Rey Middle School (Sweetwater Union High School District)
  • Jennifer McSparran, Mt. Woodson Elementary (Ramona Unified School District)
  • Martin Reisert, Oak Valley Middle School (Poway Unified School District)

The five teachers of the year will go on to represent San Diego County in the California Teacher of the Year program, which will be announced later this year.

Nominees for San Diego County Teacher of the Year were selected by their school districts based on student achievement, teaching philosophy, familiarity with current issues in education and community involvement.

“Cox Presents: A Salute to Teachers” will replay on Channel 4 San Diego on Sun., Oct. 7 at 6 p.m.; Sat., Oct. 20 at 9:30 p.m.; Fri., Oct. 26 at 8 p.m.; and Wed., Nov. 21 at 8 p.m.

Rounding out the top 10 finalists were: Donna Harper, Empresa Elementary School (Vista Unified School District), Liz Lewellen, Pendleton Elementary School (Fallbrook Union School District), Steven Santana, Lewis Middle School (San Diego Unified School District), Terrance Smith, Chula Vista High School (Sweetwater Union High School District), Joey Sutera, Carlton Oaks School (Santee School District).

Cox Communications is a full-service telecommunications provider of voice, video and data services.

In the picture above: From left, San Diego County Teachers of the Year Tim Dobbins, Emily Jimenez, Martin Reisert, Jennifer McSparran and Anthony Bayro. (Photo: Melissa Jacob)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


HTML tags are not allowed.